Two weddings and a baby bump.

I’m at that age, and have been for some time, where weddings are a frequent occurrence in our social calendar. I have two weddings coming up, a week apart, with the same group of friends – and I’ll be 36 and 37 weeks pregnant respectively at each.

Sartorial challenge accepted!

I think that each wedding will be quite different in style – Wedding #1 will be a modern, stylish, formal affair, whereas Wedding #2 will be a low-key, offbeat, relaxed event. And as the guests at one will be many of the guests of the other, I can’t get away with one dress with different accessories!

Option 1 below is a satin knee-length dress from Ripe Maternity. I have tried one one and it was … ok. I felt pretty dowdy but I’m not sure how much of that was the dress and how much was me. A plus would be that I could also wear it to a wedding in February with the same people and easily breastfeed, so I think that one repeat wear amongst the same crowd would be ok. At $180 it’s reasonably priced too, but I wasn’t so keen on squidging into a size XL!

Option 2 is a dress from Two Birds Bridesmaids, which is where my bridesmaids’ dresses were from and I just loved them. I’d probably get versatile knee-length black. They can be wrapped many different ways and worn with a bandeau underneath. The plus here is that they are not specifically maternity wear, although they are preg-friendly, so could happily be re-worn as a LBD for many years. However, they are the most expensive of all the options at $340.

Option #3 is a similar idea to the Two Birds Dress – a multi-wrap LBD. This one has gold backing, but doesn’t come with a bandeau so the back exposure factor is high. It’s about $200 which is cheaper than the Two Birds dresses. Jessica Alba likes it though …

Option #4 is the classic cocktail dress. I’m not really a fan of high necklines on me as they don’t suit my decolletage (ie: boobs) but this one is quite cute. At $230 I’m not sure I would want a dress that covers up my best and sometimes only assets!

Option #5 might be too hot if it’s a summery day, and I don’t think that the length is flattering, but I like the print and think it could be re-used. It’s also a cheapie at $100-ish. On the other hand, I suspect it could look frumpy in real life.

Option #6 is a lovely cut but only comes in this cobalt and at over $200 I think it’s too much to invest in such a shocking colour!

Crave Grecian dress from QueenBee Maternity.

I’m not sure what I’ll land on; I have dropped my days to 4 a week and only have 5 weeks of work left so there will be plenty of time for sorties to the shops (although many of these are online so postage time needs to be factored in). I suspect that Wedding #2 might be best served by a non-maternity summer maxi, which could be easily sourced with minimal effort and lots of choice. For Wedding #1 I am very tempted by a Two Birds dress for future usage purposes but might need to do some swift talking about the cost-per-wear principle!

As for accessories, shoes will be whatever fits and whatever I can bear to wear for an extended period of time! Some sparkly flat sandals will probably be the go. For Wedding #1, the more formal event, I’ll crack out the rocks and wear my NTRHR, and diamond pendant and diamond drop earrings, both my own wedding jewellery. Worn jewels are alive jewels! For Wedding #2 I think I can look for more fun and out-there stuff, and will probably have a good sniff around Lovisa for some bright and cheerful accessories. I wonder if these neons are too much?! I like 5 and 15 but 2 might be pushing it!

2 thoughts on “Two weddings and a baby bump.

  1. I know it’s expensive, but I’d probably go with the two birds option – versatile and not strictly mat wear, so you can wear it post-baby. I did that with a Leona Edmiston that I wore to your wedding and also a maxi dress from Forever New. I found the maternity cocktail dresses from places like Ripe just too dowdy for words – the necklines were always frumpy and the straps were really thick (I don’t mind thick enough to hide a nursing bra but not so thick that it kills any kind of shape and line you may have and makes you look way chunkier than you actually are). Generally, maternity wear is very disappointing – extremely pricey and way behind trends. Definitely accessorise with cheap and cheerful costume jewellery too. I’m a big fan of Hollywood Style and they usually have good sales.

    • You’re ahead of the pack! Already bought it – was lucky enough to snare a knee-length, straight-hemmed one in Slate that happened to be lonely in the warehouse. Must find a boob tube to go under it though to prevent an entirely open back. Totally agree re mat wear, especially formal stuff – SO overpriced and really quite substandard. For the second wedding I did find a long maxi at Ripe (that the salesgirl told me was similar to one currently in Country Road … ahem …) which is quite non-maternity-ish and so will do, but I also tried on a sort of kaftan-esque ensemle that made me resemble nothing more than an eggplant in shape and colour. As if you need to be made to feel even rounder and shapeless than you already do! Forever New and Diva provided some flouro-fun accessories to contrast with the long cobalt maxi – and the ever-reliable Sportsgirl!

Leave a Reply

