We’re all going on a summer holiday.

We had the most relaxing, restful, sigh-making week away last week, sans everything (including the dogs) except ourselves. It was a first wedding anniversary-babymoon-last hurrah kind of holiday. We stayed in friends’ parents’ cottage on their clifftop farm with views across the peninsula, and really did nothing at all except what we felt like. We managed a short outing every day – we are avowed ubanites after all – but most days retired to bed and a sea view by about 3pm for a solid three hour rest time, in which reading, drawing, napping, snacking and chatting were all that was accomplished. It was brilliant.

We did short trips to the Merricks General Wine Store, a drive across the peninsula to Dromana to check out Buzz’s old stomping grounds and then a leisurely coastal drive to Portsea, lunch in Mornington (loved the pizza at D.O.C. and the navy and gold Tod’s bag I picked up at Bella on Barkly), tapas at The Green Olive, and also a highly enjoyable visit to Endota Spa at Moonah Links where Buzz resisted snoozing in his massage and I had a lovely facial and neck/shoulder/hand/foot massage. I’m not sure you can get much less taxing.

The week did make me realise however just how tired I am even when I have nothing to do.

Despite going to bed when I felt tired, sleeping until I woke naturally every day, having three hours of lying down a day, and doing nothing more exerting than a stroll through some shops (and no real housework!), I really noticed my lack of energy. The week away coincided with hitting the third trimester so I assume that this is now when all my body’s efforts are diverted into turning The Bunny into a little porker ready to come out. I also had a week of constant and almost crippling back pain as a result of my now-habitual backwards lean and waddle to offset the bowling ball attached to my front, so I have settled on the idea that I do not have to push through at work until 38 weeks, and will let my physical state guide me. Provisionally I am leaving at 35 weeks, which is just 8 weeks away, and I really think that’s as far as I can go (especially after this Monday’s train commute where despite being rested and having a seat, I came perilously close to a very public purge if I hadn’t had been able to get off the train pronto).

Another reason for the expanding bump – Whittaker’s Dark Rum’n’Raisin chocolate!

In other, exciting, grown-uply news, this week has seen Schloss Buzz acquire a new back security door and split system heating/cooling in the living/kitchen/hall area, our bedroom and the nursery. We do feel quite the proud (and now poor) homeowners.

And now off for more pre-Bunny preparatory work – chasing missing online deliveries, raging at recalled whitegoods and their manufacturers, touching base with suppliers, and trying not to let pregnancy-brain erode too much of my life.

PS: Instagram, I love it. I am at aplaceforeverything.

Leave a Reply

