Versatility.

I have written and lost this post twice now, so I can only assume that it is now pithier and wittier than ever before.

The lovely Lilian Harlow (go and read her blog right now – lilianharlow.com ) has tagged me as a Versatile Blogger, and as I love to talk about myself I am happy to play!

The idea is to share seven things about yourself. I love these getting to know you things; they tell so much more than just the facts – what you think of as important to you is just as telling as the details.

ONE
I spent some of my very early childhood in Northern India, and I think that this had ongoing repercussions throughout my life. The rest of my childhood was immersed in the art and mythology of Hinduism and Tibetan Buddhism (not in a hippie, let’s-all-hold-hands-together way but in a seriously academic way), and I learnt how many people are obliged to live through no fault of their own; how lucky I am; and how it is my duty to defend people who can’t do it for themselves and to pursue their rights to the same resources that I have.

TWO
I am vegan, which means that I do not eat, wear or use anything made from, with or by animal products. I was vegetarian from the age of 9 1/2 (January 1990) until I had a Road to Damascus moment in September 2007 and ditched the lot. I am very aware that I am often the only vegan at people know, so it is critical that I present a rational and reasonable voice, or people will continue to believe the very worst stereotypes of us (my husband had these too before we met). I am more than happy to discuss it with anyone but am seriously too bored to engage people who want to tell me that plants have feelings too.

THREE
I am scared of slipping and falling. Heights are fine, but you can’t get me up a spiral staircase for love nor money (well you can if it’s in an old castle and it’s a matter of historical education, but otherwise it will be accompanied by swearing, fast breathing, and terse commands to get out of my bloody way).

FOUR
I met my husband on a night out when both us had almost gone home already. We had a conversation that just zinged, and I told my friend before our first date that I was going to marry him. I didn’t tell him this for a long time in case I looked like a psycho stalker! The highest compliment I can pay him is that when I am with him it’s like being alone – not because he’s a non-entity! – but because when I am with him I am wholly and completely myself. This is his greatest gift to me and I hope he feels the same.

FIVE
I am a grub. I am incapable of maintaining pristine clothes, and for this reason I know I will never be able to wear white jeans. I have a theory that there are some people who no matter what they are wearing or what state they’re in always look pulled together and neat, and some people who even when dressed in haute couture would manage to look a bit haphazard. I am definitely in the latter category and may in fact be Queen of the Slightly Crumpled People. This may be one reason why I am so keen on having my physical environment organized and sorted, as I have more control over that than the mysterious stains that seem magnetically attracted to my body!

SIX
I love Tom Jones and I have very cheesy taste in music.

SEVEN
On to this organising caper. I always thought that everyone had an inbuilt ability to organise, but it has taken me a long time to realize that it doesn’t come easily to some people, or they are simply too busy to prioritize it. I love to create storage and systems that are simple and allow people to just use them so that their environment supports them in the really important stuff – life and living.

To me, organising is logic; it is creative; it is psychology; it is concrete; it is conceptual; it is helping people by working with them; it is building order out of chaos and it is allowing people live their lives in an environment that helps rather than hinders them. My goal in the next few years is to build A Place For Everything into a full-time business, and I am so excited to start working with people, build on my skills, and do some serious decluttering!

I am meant to pass on this award to up to fifteen people, but as I am not a regular commenter on blogs I am afraid that many bloggers will think “Who on earth is this strange person and why does she want to know things about me?”. Instead I will tag a couple and also issue a general invitation to anyone to participate if they also want to talk about themselves!

I tag:

Sass of Sassiest ( sassiest.wordpress.com ), because I can’t wait to have another Eldridge Estate with her once Sweetpea arrives;

Mez of Domestic Divinity ( domesticdivinity.blogspot.com ), in recognition of her admirable search for the perfect turquoise necklace; and

Sian of Miss Kitty Cat Goes To Town ( miss kitty-catgoestotown.blogspot.com ), for having the most gorgeous baby shower cake.

Here are the rules:

-Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.
-Tell your readers 7 things about yourself.
-Give this award to up to 15 recently discovered bloggers.
-Contact those bloggers and tell them the exciting news!

20110927-124934.jpg

20110927-125043.jpg

2 thoughts on “Versatility.

  1. Thank GOODNESS the post finally made it through cyberspace to your blog safely!!! This is one of the most interesting ones I have read!

    What an amazing childhood! I’m not surprised that it’s had a profound impact on who you are 🙂 And I totally understand about needing to “represent” for all of the sane vegans out there! Some of my immediate family and closest friends are vegetarians and a couple are devout vegans (not that you can really be a half-hearted vegan *laughs*). I’ve seen how much dedication it can take at times and also the sort of attitude they cop at times because of it.

    If you are the Queen of Slightly Crumpled People, can I be the Crowned Princess? =p

    Thank goodness for that one random night out where you met Buzz! Look at you guys now!

    Thanks for sharing all of this, I really enjoyed reading it 🙂

    • Thanks Lilian! It’s funny, but each iteration I wrote had some things the same and some things different … perhaps reflecting back at me what was on my mind when I was writing 🙂

      I can’t really imagine you being a Crumpled Person … I suspect you are actually one of the Tribe of the Tailored! 🙂

      Thanks again for tagging me!

Leave a Reply

